Coffee / Move

TGIF…Insomnia and Apple Crisp

TGIF all!  Let me tell you I am serious glad today is Friday.  I don’t know what is up but I slept like crap last night.  O’dark thirty and my brain was on with no shutdown in sight.  Not to mention restless…could not get comfortable for the life of me.  Poor HB, I think I caused him some insomnia with my tossing and turning.  Then of course around 0445 I fell asleep.  My alarm goes off at 0530.  *sigh*  So much for sleep.  Coffee, hot and strong, please! Insomnia sucks.So, E is now in Color Guard.  Which means Fridays he has to be at school by 0700.  No probs…just means I get to stop by Starbucks on the way to work.  *happy dance*  It’s kinda on the way.  Found these there:

Yum!

Have you tried these?  They are good!  Especially the mango, pineapple, and banana.  HB even likes them which is saying something…he’s picky.  K took them to school and had kids ask him to bring it again, to share of course.  Yeah, they kinda look like poo but they taste great!  Especially for organic, no sugar added, all natural, it’s just fruit.  Seriously, that’s it.  Fruit…no additives of any kind!  One ingredient listed.  Not much out there can claim those words.

Going to a party tonight…a NASCAR kickoff party.  Yeah, my excitement jumps at you doesn’t it?  After little sleep the idea of watching cars go in endless circles is enough to put me to sleep.  Zzzzz…oops, I nodded off there for a sec.  Thankfully there will be cornhole and food/drinks.  What is cornhole?  Seriously?  Come on, you know what that is…like bean bag toss.  Check out the boards I got HB for his bday:  (Throwin’ it Portuguese style!)

Portuguese Style Cornhole Boards

So, I think I am going to chronicle our PCS.  Starting with the pets and how we get them over there. Hoping to get OkinawaHai to post it but if not, maybe someone will read this blog and see it anyways.  If you want to see what Okinawa is going to be like check out the site.  We are gonna have so much fun over there!  Who couldn’t love a place that looks like this:

Photo courtesy of http://www.time2pcs.com

So, a recipe for the fall weather.  I made this a few days ago because I saw some apples sitting in the fridge and had a hankerin’ for some crisp.  (It may also be related to the apple pie we bought and took over to a friend’s house.)  I figured I could do better, healthier, more natural than the box.  So here it is, try it out and let me know what you think!

Apple Crisp (GF/Paleo options)

For the filling:

5-6 apples (your choice on what kind, I used Gala)

2-3 tsp cinnamon (more or less to your taste)

1 tsp apple pie spice (found it at Target), can cub w/nutmeg, cinnamon, and allspice)

¼ c sweetener of choice (organic sugar, maple syrup, honey, palm sugar, etc)

For the topping:

½ c cashews

½ c pecans

½ c GF Oats (leave out for paleo)

¼ c sweetener of choice (see list above, can be left out)

1-2 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp butter, ghee or coconut butter

Preheat oven to 350.  Chop apples into even pieces, I did approx 1 inch chunks.  Place into large saucepan with other filling ingredients and heat over medium on the stove until the apples begin to sweat.  (Yep, make those apples sweat like they’re running a 5K in Houston during the middle of summer.)  Stir occasionally to heat evenly, approx 10 minutes*.

Coat a 8×8 pan with coconut oil or butter.  Pour the sweaty apple mix into the pan.  Now take out your food processor, Ninja, or blender.  I used my Ninja…Karate Chop!  Add the cashews and pulverize them to a nutty mess stopping before they become a nut butter.  Now add the pecans, sweetener, cinnamon, oats and butter.  Pulse to combine.  Don’t over pulse…you want some chunks.

Glop the topping onto those sweaty apples and place in the oven. Bake 20-30 minutes or until the apple filling is bubbly and the topping is browned.  Careful not to overcook…burnt nuts aren’t terribly tasty.

Let cool a few minutes before you scoop into that deliciousness…it’s hot!  Serve with your favorite vanilla ice cream, whipped coconut cream, or just eat it up as is…so good!

GF/Paleo Apple Crisp

(Sorry about the pictures and the pan.  I’m cooking with little dishes as mine are all packed and shipped.)

*Corn starch or Arrowroot powder can be added towards the end of the sweating process for a thicker “sauce.”  My apples had a good workout and left a little puddle of juice but I just spooned it over for some added yum.

Leave a Reply

