Breakfast / Coffee / Dessert / Food / shopping

Coffee Addict? Who me? Nooooooo…couldn’t be. (Plus GF Donut Holes!)

Addict:  someone dependent on a drug; an enthusiast, someone very interested in a particular thing and devotes a lot of time to it.

The second definition is me!  Me on coffee.  I love my coffee.  So much so that I own a Keurig and large variety of k-cups!!  Surely you have one!  What?  You don’t.  Well, get one.  Now.  And load up on k-cups.  You’ll be happy you did, trust Bre.  (see what I did there?  No, oh never mind.)  There’s nothing like a warm, steaming mug of deliciousness wafting through your lungs and washing over your tongue first thing in the morning.  (Or just about any other time really.)  It even does various teas and hot cocoas.  Want something cold…try an iced beverage, tea or coffee.  Oh yeah this thing does them all.  Have I mentioned how much I love my Keurig?

I won’t even get started on Starbucks.  I once had a friend who actually told me Starbucks was their “standby” place if there wasn’t a DD around!  Yes, they actually said that and no I couldn’t pick my jaw up off the ground for a few hours.  Our friendship almost ended with those words.  Who could, who would pass up Starbucks for DD?!  I can’t even fathom.  Yes, I gladly pay $5 for a venti skinny cinnamon dolce latte or a venti skinny caramel macchiato.  Why?  Cuz they’re the BOMB-DIGGITTY!  That’s why.  And as much as I would love to be able to recreate that wheel…why bother when they have done it so perfectly well.  Who messes with a good thing like that?  Not me, not Bre.  Nope, no way.  (Have you gotten their rewards card yet?  I love going in there with my freebie!)

Yes, coffee is serious business.  Don’t mess with me and my coffee, especially first thing in the a.m.  Just sayin’.  You’ve been warned.  (Ask HB if you don’t believe me…he’s been on the wrong end of the mug a few times.) Sorry HB.  Next time bring me the coffee first.  😉

Anywho, here’s my skirt I was talking about from the shopping post.

My Skirt…ain’t it purity!

Isn’t it purty?  I saw a mannequin in Black and White’s store that had a skirt similar to this one topped with a black sweater and belted.  Had to recreate!  But at my price point.  I don’t pay full price for clothes, shoes, jewelry or much else.  Why?  Sales and clearance racks are way too much fun.  So much more of an endorphin rush seeing the “You saved” more than the “you spent!”  Skirt=on sale for under $30, sweater =$30, belt=$12,  earrings=$7, and shoes=in closet already!  A whole outfit for under $100.  Not to mention the mix and match possibilities with other things I own.  Do you clap like a little girl getting her first Barbie doll when you find a steal on the racks?  I do.  There may even be some dancing involved.  Who cares…I just saved $100!  Ha.

On a side note:  it’s October.  Do you know what that means?  We have less than 60 days before we head out on our grand adventure!  I’m feeling a bit nervous, excited, and antsy all at the same time.  Ugh.  The actual act of moving, it’s for the birds!          

***Disclaimer:  this is not a paid or asked for advertisement of Starbucks, Keurig, K-cups, or any other brand mentioned above. I didn’t receive any freebies from these companies…I just seriously luv their stuff and rack up points to earn rewards!***  

-Gluten Free Baked donut holes (for that cup of coffee in the mornin’)

Recipe adapted from:  http://www.freecoconutrecipes.com/index.cfm/2012/1/18/gluten-free-baked-donut-holes

Servings: 25-30 donut holes

Preparation Time: 5 minutes

•1/2 cup organic sugar

•1/8 teaspoon salt

•1/2 cup organic butter

•1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

•2 eggs

•1/2-1 tsp cinnamon

•10 tablespoons coconut flour

•1/2 cup powdered sugar (opt, for coating)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or silpat.

In a medium bowl, cream sugar, salt, butter and vanilla extract together. Add eggs and mix thoroughly.

Add coconut flour and few tablespoons at a time and stir to combine with each addition. Let dough sit for one minute. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Place evenly on baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes, or until golden.

(If using parchment paper, just slide it off onto a towel lined portion of the counter to cool.)  Let cool slightly and roll gently in powdered sugar.  Allow to cool another 5-10 minutes and roll again in powdered sugar.  Store in an airtight container in the fridge.  Soooo good the next day cold!

**for chocolate donut holes, add 3 tbsp cocoa powder (I like dark chocolate cocoa powder) and an additional egg or 3 tbsp extra liquid (i.e. melted butter, coconut milk, or even coffee! Yum).  Mix coconut flour and cocoa powder before adding to wet mixture**

Yum! GF Baked Donut Holes

P.S.  Cauliflower Mashed Potatoes…HB can pick them out every time!  He wants the real fake stuff.  LoL  He’s so silly.  Btw, I wore my Vibram’s today.  I’ll tell you more about it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

