Cookies / Food / Peanut Butter / Shoes / shopping

Hooker Heels and Flourless PB Cookies

Ok, so I was at Kohl’s the other day (L-U-V me some Kohl’s!) checking out the shoes during one of their sales.  Duh, Kohl’s always has a sale but can anyone say 30% coupon plus Kohl’s cash?!  Ka-ching!!  At our store there was a prominent display of JLo shoes in the women’s section.  Most of which are heels; most of which are at least 3-4″ high.  Yeah, I wear those types of heels.  Almost daily.

~Whoever invented the platform heel is a genius if you ask me!  Height w/o all the strain on the foot.  Yeah, yeah…I know there is still some strain but for the way it makes my legs look I.don’t.care.~

Anywho, my eyes are feasting on the various shapes, colors, and heights when these two ladies walk by the display.  One of them stops and looks at a pair of the heels and says, “I don’t know how people wear those things!  They’re so…”  To which the other pipes in to finish her thought…”Hookerish.  They’re like hooker heels.  I would never wear those.”  Part of me wanted to show them the pair of 4″ turquoise platform heels I had in my hands and ask them if it made me a hooker.  But instead I smiled and just thought to myself…”Jealous much.”

Oh yeah, you know who you are…the ones who want to wear the heels but don’t for whatever your reason.  Job, lack of confidence, different fashion sense, fear of being called a hooker, fear of falling/breaking an ankle.  Not me…bring it on!  So what if people think they’re hooker heels.  Call me names and while you’re at it, check out my calves in those bad boys.  Especially when I have them paired with a pencil skirt.  Bam!  If that makes me a hooker then I am the best dressed, most underpaid (never paid) hooker of all time.

I guess what I am getting at is twofold:  1. Don’t judge a book by its cover, or a person by their shoes (or clothes, hair, car, etc); 2. if you got it, flaunt it!  It’s taken me a long time to realize #2.  I’m no model but I’ve worked hard to get where I am at and build my confidence in who I am.  If a pair of sky-high heels helps boost that confidence and/or makes me feel more attractive then who are you to judge.  I firmly believe in highlighting those areas you are proud of especially if it helps you through the day.

Ok, now…before people take me the wrong way I do also firmly believe there is a time and place for everything (including certain types of clothing/shoes.)  Work rules and standards often dictate just how far a person can go in their flaunting.  I am not advocating a woman wear 5 inch sling-back stilettos with spikes and ankle wraps to an office or a man coming in to work in over tight jeans and a muscle-T.  The key here is highlighting…not exposing the whole shebang!  (wow, so did anyone else not realize that word, shebang, is in the dictionary?!)

How about you?  Are you a wearer of the heels or do you prefer flats land?

*Disclaimer*  When not in heels I can normally be found in my running shoes or flip flops…much to the chagrin of my HB.  Have I told you he hates feet?  No disrespect to flat lovers in the world.

A friend found this pic on the Vibram’s FB page:  (perfect fusion!)

Perfect Fusion

Btw, have I mentioned how much moving stinks and air mattresses are the debilthe debil I tell you!  I’m not sure if my back will ever be the same.  I need some chocolate, stat!

Peanut Butter (Flourless) Cookies:

I know there are tons of recipes out there for this but these are the ones I like, a little less sugar and a special something.

1 c peanut butter

1//2 c sugar (I like to use 1/4 c organic and 1/4 c brown)

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

Mix the peanut butter and sugar together.  Stir in the vanilla, soda, and cinnamon.  Add egg and stir until combined.  Roll 1-inch balls and place on Silpat or parchment paper covered baking sheet.  Press cookies down with fork using criss cross pattern.  (You may need to dip the fork into some sugar in-between presses to keep it from sticking.)

Bake 350 for 10-12 minutes.  Let cool…or blow on one until it cools just enough to enjoy it melting all warm and gooey in your mouth!  (I highly recommend a big tall cold glass of milk, coconut milk, or almond milk to wash it down!)

Leave a Reply

