Food / Holidays

Monster Mash (Spooky Tales & Tricky Treats)

TGIF!  I got a Starbucks this morning…a great start to a 3-day weekend!

Oooo…it’s that time of year.  Halloween is just around the corner.  I love this time of year…the weather is cooling off, the ovens are heating up for all those baked goodies, leaves are turning and the decorations are coming out.  The whole season brings a sense of community.  Especially when free candy is involved.  😉  Families and friends come together to celebrate the various holidays.   The first of which is the spooky, good time:  Halloween.

Yes, we do Halloween.  We do it to decorate the yard, have a party, and get dressed up.  Last year HB and I won the costume contest!  Oh yeah…purple ribbon and $10 gift card.  So worth all the time I spent on his make-up.  Check it, I created that:

The Jesters

This year, well, things are different.  Our decorations are probably on a slow boat to Japan.  Halloween falls in the middle of the week too.  No fun.  My oldest, E, is at that age where he has more fun handing out the candy and trying to scare the little kids.  K is still young enough to want to go out for some free treats but he wants to go on his own with some friends.  Uh, no.  I did let him go with some friends and their parents last year.  They only went for an hour and he still came back with a sack full of crap…I mean candy.  <Are you as overprotective as me?  I make him go through it all with one of us parents and throw out anything with a hole or even if it looks like it’s been opened.   I admit it’s also a good way to get rid of some of it.   So sue me for not wanting him on a candy high for a month.>   I am sorely missing the whole act of setting out/hanging up the creepy crawlies, skulls and bones, and assortment of lights.  One year I even made a whole week’s worth of scary eats leading up to Halloween.  E asked me if we would be having Blood and Guts w/a side of Bones again this year.  🙂  Warms my heart that he likes my cooking.   I think we’ll forgo the bones this year and sub with some eyes.  Yum.

So, as I was blog surfing and hit upon Peas and Crayons post about watching scary movies.  *shiver*  Not me!  No thanks.  I startle easily enough without having the jumps every time I hear a noise.  I won’t watch a scary movie…not even for HB.  He likes them and wants to snuggle on the couch watching them.  Uh, no.  You watch, I’ll go read a nice book.  P.S.  Don’t come running up to bed and hiding under the covers expecting me to protect you.  I am still scarred from the less than B-rated movie my parents watched when I was a young girl.  I can still hear the song in my head…”Oh how I want to eat your face, it would give me such a smile.”  As he proceeds to rip the scientists arm off.  It was truly awful!!  It took me a long time to find that movie.  Thanks to YouTube I did…and it is still truly awful.  But not in a scary way…just awful.  Here it is, the movie that scarred me:  (Spaceship featuring Leslie Neilson)

So now I don’t do scary.  Suspense, yes.  Thriller, maybe.  Horror, definitely not!  I’ve never seen any of the “classics” like Halloween, anything Steven King, Poltergeist, etc.  I don’t feel like I’m missing out.  I prefer to not worry too much anymore about my feet hanging over the bed…the evil clowns or gremlins may snatch me in my sleep.  Thank goodness the air mattress is already on the floor…nothing can hide underneath.  Ha, take that boogey man!

Do you watch scary movies?  What’s your favorite thing about this time of year?

 

Blood and Guts w/”eye” balls  (Gluten-Free Opt)

Box of Spaghetti

1 large can spaghetti sauce

1 lb Ground beef

1 Egg

1 tsp pepper

Salt, to taste

1 tbsp Dried onion

1 tbsp minced garlic

1 tsp red pepper flakes (or to taste)

2-3 mozzarella cheese sticks, cut into about 1 inch pieces

Black olives, sliced into thin rings

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine all ingredients from ground beef down.  Mix well and form into 1 ½ -2  in balls.  Place piece of mozzarella inside the meatball w/ the end sticking out one side.  Place on aluminum foil lined baking sheet, cheese side up.  Bake 15-20 minutes or until meat is cooked through.

Meanwhile, cook pasta to taste.  Warm sauce.

Plate spaghetti w/sauce on top…drips along the rim adds to the look.  Top with 2 “eye” balls (Mozz oozing out just makes it creepier!).  Place a slice of black olive in middle of the mozzarella for effect.  Serve your haunting dinner with a large cleaver in your hand.  Bwahahahahaha.

**GF, make own or sub w/GF sauce like Heinz Classico, Prego, or Newman’s Own; sub GF noodles

Leave a Reply

