Fitness / Running / Shoes

Will Run for Chocolate

I’m not sure what it was but this morning I did not want to get out of bed.  I was super snuggled under the covers and not even the thought of my beloved coffee was luring me out.  The continuous beeping of my alarm however eventually annoyed me enough to get up, put on my workout clothes, let the pups out, and start my morning right…coffee time.

This morning I did a mix of strength training and yoga.

50 Toy soldiers
60 seconds jog in place
30 leg pulse backs (each leg) -pulse leg towards back without touching to ground, tummy in, hips straight
10 3-count half moon toe touches (each leg) -touch toes front, side, back, side, front (that’s one)
30 calf raises
30 pigeon toe calf raises
30 toes out calf raises
20 wall presses
20 arm curls
20 side arm curls
10 overhead tricep curls (each side)
20 lateral arm raises
50 3 breath pulse crunches
25 situp/v-ups
30 side crunches (each side)
60 second tree pose (each leg)
60 second warrior three (each leg)

This afternoon I hope to get in a light run.  Maybe using my Vibram Five Fingers.  Ok, if I use those it will probably be a walk with some spurts of running.  My calves are crying just thinking about it.

Make it chocolate and I would run all day!

Food For Thought= Fitness: The state or condition of being physically sound and healthy, especially as the result of exercise and proper nutrition.

So, I did 2 miles in my Vibram’s.  Walking mostly but with 5 60-90 second spurts of running.  My achilles are speaking to me, softly, but I can hear them.  My calves are filling up their lungs for a full on tantrum later…I can feel it coming on.  However, despite this discomfort I am really liking the way I run in them.  I can definitely tell a difference in my stride, cadence, and muscle usage.  I am hoping my slow and steady use will lead to a great new way of running.

HB is Home!  Picked him up this evening.  It’s been a long day so I won’t ramble.  I will leave with this:  Did you get up and move today?  What’s your motivator to move?

You moved today? HIGH FIVE!

Leave a Reply

