Misc

The Perfect Storm…?

Alright people, have you seen the weather for the East Coast lately?  If not, get your head out of the sand, book, or blog and check out the weather channel for a few minutes.  I am sure you will see what I am talking about.  Hurricane Sandy possibly doing the tango with a western front AND a northern cold front!  Three partners doing a dance at the same time over the same ground may lead to a mess.  (If you didn’t know, I live on the East Coast…in the direct path of the area they are now saying it might hit.)

The Perfect Storm?

Normally this wouldn’t bother me much other than stocking up on “just in case” supplies and the possibility of working longer hours.  However, this particular weekend we were planning a jaunt up the eastern seaboard to visit relatives.  So, even if Sandy tangos away from where I live she will likely meet her dance partners up where we are headed. Not really a win-win situation here.  WTF, weather?!  I suppose now is better than in a few weeks when we are supposed to be catching a plane out of here but still.  Our last opportunity to visit family is quickly becoming risky business.  This may turn into a turn and burn visit…”Hi, how are ya?  Nice to see you.  Buh-bye!”  I really don’t want to get stuck somewhere on the NJ Pike or even up with family seeing as we leave in a little over 2 weeks.  That would put a serious kink in our plans, appointments, and timeline.  I don’t do kinks well.

*Deep Breath*  Woooo-Saaaaa.  HB says it’s just another adventure…and laughs.  I get a touch panicky.  Especially now with all the other stuff we got going on.  Granted, the kids would love to see snow one last time.  Heck, I wouldn’t mind.  Just not the possible feet, yes they said FEET, of snow over a few days the weather peeps are talking about.

Ok, I’m getting ahead of myself.  I know, I know…it could turn and head off to dance alone.  (I hope it does.)  The meteorologists tend to over exaggerate and get people all worked up.  Like I said, typically this wouldn’t be a big deal but right now, for me, it is…I’m getting worked up.  *and breath*

On a positive note, I was nominated for a Leibster Award!  Yeah!!  I gotta get the details and do a post but right now I don’t have a lot of time for that…so look for it in the next post or so.  Thanks WhenCrazyMeetsExhaustion for the nom!  Love your blog and appreciate you gandering at mine from time to time.  🙂

‘Tis Boneless…lol

Well, I gotta get packing.  We are planning to leave late this afternoon.  Need some snacks and “keep ’em occupied for 8 hours” items too.  I foresee a trip to the store.  Thank goodness for tablets and movies!  On the plus side, I see a future rife with Starbucks stops!!  The pike is great at having them along the way.

What do you take to entertain the kiddos on long trips?
Do you enjoy long drives or dread the seat time?  I personally like the sights but can’t sit still that long!  Must stop often and stretch the legs.  Much to my husband’s delight (slight sarcasm here) I stick my feet up on the dash to stretch them out.  🙂

Leave a Reply

