Uncategorized

One of the Hardest Days of My Life

I had a whole topic in mind but things change. I’m sitting here writing this with a heavy heart, over chocolated belly, and wine in hand. Today we had to do one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. This afternoon we put down one of our dogs, Rex. My big lover boy of a dog. I can’t begin to describe how hard it is to watch a pet leave this world. I take comfort in the knowledge that what we did was the best thing for him and I was able to be with him. The SPCA was not our first choice of places to do it but they were great. Very kind and compassionate. They let me come into the room, put a blanket on the floor, and sat with Rex and I during the whole process. The vet explained everything very gently, softly petted him during the whole thing, and encouraged me to give him as much love as I wanted for however long I wanted. I sat down, Rex laid down in front of me, placed his big head in my lap, and then quietly fell asleep. He seemed almost understanding. How is it they know us so well? He comforted me in his last breaths.

E and K were aware of the situation and have handled it well thus far. We have so many things going on that it is a small blessing in disguise. Too busy to really worry over it, ponder it to much, or feel overwhelming sadness. We have all had a bit of a cry and hugged each other. Now I am drowning my sorrows in chocolate and wine. I don’t normally condone drowning sorrows in alcohol but sometimes there are exceptions. Today is one of them. A few glasses while we watch a movie for a little distraction. Some bittersweet chocolate to go with my bittersweet memories of one of the best dogs in the world. I love you and miss you so much already bubba! God has you in His hands and I know you are pain free and frolicking in a field full of bunnies to chase.

20121102-191127.jpg

4 thoughts on “One of the Hardest Days of My Life

  1. Honey, I am so very sorry….know it leaves a big whole in your hearts, but it is such a blessing to have good people help you through the process. Big hugs from me and Dad

  2. I’m so sorry Sabrina, I’m sitting here with tears running down my face. It is so hard to lose part of our families. My prayers are with you and your family during this difficult time.

Leave a Reply

