Military Life / Move / MTMM

We Have Arrived!

Konnichiwa — pronounced “kon-nee-chee-wah”= Hello in Japanese (I seriously need to learn some key phrases!)

We made it folks!  6 hours from Philly to Seattle, layover in Seattle (Red Lion Hotel), 10 hour flight from Seattle to mainland Japan, 2 hour layover, 1 1/2 hour flight, 2 hour layover, 1 1/2 hour flight, DONE!  Piece of cake.  Ha.  Not.  It was, however, fairly smooth.  We were slightly delayed leaving Seattle due to some issues with the plane’s strut but they managed to fix it.  Unfortunately they realized the delay after boarding families with small children…they ended up staying on the plane for approximately an hour while the rest of us were in the terminal.  I was glad our children weren’t considered “small/young” at that point.  Throughout the day we managed to make up for the delay and actually arrived on time, if not a smidge early.  I can’t tell you exactly what time we got in…it’s all a haze/daze/maze.  It was a long day.

I took quite a few pictures but the connections are slow and I am using HB’s computer right now to write this.  I will try to upload some via the app…just not sure how well that will turn out.  😦  It’s a learning curve.  One we will be figuring out for a few weeks, if not months, I am sure.

So far so good but jet lag’s a b$tch!  I don’t think it has completely hit us yet.  The boys are currently napping…it’s around 6pm on Saturday as I type.  They were awake at 3am this morning after going to bed around 11pm.  None of us slept much on the plane but that didn’t seem to do much for resetting our internal clocks.  Hopefully it won’t take too long.  I must say I feel slightly foggy in the brain department and had a wicked headache when I got up this morning.  Don’t want to rehash that experience tonight.  I am sure part of it was the lack of sleep, airplane air (ugh, can’t stand the recirculated “oxygen”), and food.

I plan to do a few posts here shortly on the trip and our experience thus far but until I can adjust a little more and figure out the connection issues it might be a few days.  No Wi-Fi is no bueno.  Who uses a hardline anymore?  Geesh.  My MacAir doesn’t even have a slot to plug one in.  So last year.

I am hooking up to the More Than Mommies Mixer today as well!  Hope you will pop by and check them out.

 

How long does it take you to get over jet lag?

 

3 thoughts on “We Have Arrived!

  1. Are you in Japan with the U.S. military?
    What part?

    I’m an American whose been living in Tokyo since 1990.
    Please check my blog … and feel free to comment.

Leave a Reply

