Food / Recipe

Take That Pan Dulce! + Vanilla Rooibos Latte

I used to love Starbucks!  Ok, I still do but it’s different here.  I’ve yet to try the Japanese version of Starbucks.  It looked the same when I peeked into a store but the prices had me shying away.  It was @$7!  I love me some SBucks but that’s a tad pricey even for a lover like me.  So, I’ve been using my trusty Keurig and frother to make my own lattes/cappuccinos.

Today I made a Vanilla Rooibos Latte.  So good.  I had ordered the Vanilla Rooibos tea from Starbucks and finally got it the other day.  I wasn’t thinking about the latte part until I spied my frother on high (shelf above my head).  I pulled it down and added some vanilla creamer and half&half.  A whir, blend, and heat later I dumped it into my mug with the hot tea (made the tea by using my Keurig’s hot water setting and adding about 8oz water).  It was just like the Starbucks brewed!  🙂  Super happy!  I threw in a packet of Truvia and the sweetness was perfect.

This could easily be made in the microwave…heat the water and add the bag.  Then heat the half&half (or milk would work) and creamer (or vanilla syrup) and add to the tea.  Tasty.  Try it!  And with no caffeine it won’t keep you awake if you’re looking for a nighttime drink.

So, for those of you who read my post yesterday, I had an epic sweet bread fail.  I don’t think it was the yeast…it was the recipe.  I will never use that one again!  I read through some comments/suggestions, checked a few other sweet bread recipes, and came up with this one:

Sweet Bread

3/4 c milk
3/4 c sugar
1 1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c butter
2 packages active dry yeast
1/3 c warm water ***(very important) 105-115F
3 eggs, room temp
6 c flour

Heat milk, sugar, salt and butter in saucepan over low heat until butter melts and the sugar dissolves.  Cool to lukewarm. ***(very important)

Dissolve yeast in warm water in warm bowl.  Add lukewarm milk mixture, 5 c flour, and eggs.  Place in stand mixer with dough hook attachment.  Mix on low speed approx 2 minutes.  Slowly add remaining flour a little at a time.  Continue mixing on low speed until dough sticks to hook and comes away from the bowl.  Leave on low speed and knead another 2 minutes or until dough is smooth and satiny looking.

Lightly oil large bowl and place the dough in the bowl, rolling to coat the dough.  Cover with saran wrap and towel. Place in warm area and let rise, approx 1-1 1/2 hours or until doubled in size.

Punch dough down and shape into 18 discs.  Top with streusel topping (if desired) and cover with towel.  Allow to rise another 40 minutes.

Bake in 350 oven (preheated) for 20-25 minutes, or until lightly browned.

Streusel Topping:

1/2 c sugar
2/3 c flour
4 tbsp butter
dash of cinnamon
2 egg yolks

Combine flour and sugar.  Cut in butter using 2 forks until pea size chunks form.  Add the egg yolks and mix to combine.  Press crumble mixture into discs before allowing to rise or form small circular discs, place on dough and score into patterns.

Dough...it has risen!

Dough…it has risen!

Pan Dulce...Win!

Pan Dulce…Win!

Win!!  Look at those pretty domes!  🙂  🙂  I couldn’t wait for E to get home so I could show him these!

Oh yeah, the yeast did it’s work and the dough rose nicely.  I proceeded to make 9 Pan Dulces and then put the rest of the dough into 2- 9″ round pans to make a sweet bread.  HB is Portuguese and loves him some sweet bread!  (After looking at the various recipes there isn’t much difference between the Mexican, Spanish, and Portuguese breads.  Some have more flour, some more eggs, and some more butter.)  I think I will have to try to make some Malasades and Masa Sovada one of these days soon…maybe for Christmas.  I have the bread bug now that I figured it out….well, I think.  😉

I know I promised the cupcake recipe but I had to share this today!  E came home and saw the Pan Dulces…his jaw dropped and he is excited to take one to his teacher.  🙂  (He said she was understanding and reiterated what I said about the yeast.)

Now you have to come back tomorrow for the Peanut Butter Banana Cupcakes!

Do you keep trying when a recipe fails or move on?

How soon do you try again…give it a few days or ASAP?

Hopping along the Empowered Living Tuesday blog hop.  Thanks for hosting, Empowered Mama!

EmpoweredLivingbutton

2 thoughts on “Take That Pan Dulce! + Vanilla Rooibos Latte

  1. Pingback: WIAW + Peanut Butter Banana Cupcakes | BreNaturally

  2. I’ve failed on a few bread recipes before too sometimes my fault but more often it was not a good recipe to follow. I read your “About Me” section and want to congratulate you on your incredible journey to a healthy lifestyle…GOOOO YOU. Well done on the marathon.
    I look forward to more of your posts as I am intrigued at the peanut butter banana cupcake recipe.
    Thank you for sharing and linking to the Empowered Living hop. I hope to see you back in the new year. Happy Holidays.

Leave a Reply

