Food / WIAW

WIAW + Peanut Butter Banana Cupcakes

Hey all!  It’s that time again…What I Ate Wednesday, Holiday Addition!  Thanks to Jen at Peas and Crayons for hosting!

wiaw what i ate wednesday button happy healthy holidays

I’ve been doing better with my eating now that we are settling in more.  Not to mention all the time I have on my hands, what with no job.  Food has been abundant in our house.  🙂 HB and the boys aren’t complaining.  If anything I think they may be getting too used to it.  😉

I also made these the other day…Peanut Butter Banana Cupcakes, a recipe I found in an old Galmour magazine and adapted lightly.  The kids loved them, HB was on the fence as it though the frosting was “too peanut buttery.”  Ha…is there really such a thing?  Uh, no.

PBB CupcakesI know I promised the recipe, so here it is: Peanut Butter Banana Cupcakes  It’s been hard not to have one for a snack every few hours.  😉

On to what I ate.

I started my day with one of the Pan Dulces w/some nut butter and a latte.  (check out that foam!  Love my frother!)  I had to include a shot of the morning sky…a ray of light peaking out.

Bread and Latte

For lunch it was leftovers from last nights dinner of chicken and potato soup.  Crumbled some blue corn chips on top with a dollop of sour cream…yummy!  Dinner was some Anthony’s Pizza…bacon mushroom cheeseburger.  One slice and I was good.

Chicken and Pizza

I made some more of HB’s favorite banana bread…my Nutella Banana Coconut Bread.  

Coconut Banana Nutella Bread1

I also had to try my hand at a recipe I’ve only made a few times…Arroz Doce (Portuguese Sweet Rice…tapioca-ish.)  The recipe was given to me by my MIL…since she doesn’t speak English and I don’t speak Portuguese it was quite interesting to convert.  🙂  I watched her make it a few times and also spoke with HB’s sister to confirm the recipe.  I will post the recipe in a post soon.

Arroz Doce...recipe to come

Arroz Doce…recipe to come

Of course I had to taste what I made!  Throughout the day I also had a few cups of tea…a staple drink in the winter for me.

In our house, we celebrate Christmas a bit differently with the food.  Since HB is Portuguese and raised Catholic and I am a true American (lots of different nationalities in my blood) raised Baptist, our traditions were a bit different when we met.  However, over the years we have come to an understanding during the holidays…Thanksgiving is turkey day, as is tradition, but Christmas is Portuguese fare.  It took a few years for me to collect some family recipes and a few more years (like to this day) to learn how to make them.  😉   Thus, the Arroz Doce.  And mad desire to conquer that danged Pan Dulce.  (while it’s the Mexican version, they are all very close in their ingredients)

So, that’s what I ate, baked, and tasted.

How was your Wednesday?

What are some of the traditions you have at Christmas?

How do you meld your different traditions to pass along to your family?

4 thoughts on “WIAW + Peanut Butter Banana Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

