Blog Challenge / Blog Hop / Fitness

P90X= hot sweaty mess

If you haven’t tried the P90X series then I highly recommend it**. Especially if you aren’t the type to head to the gym or need a stay at home workout. And let me tell you, you’ll.work.out.!!!

The first time I did the series, I committed to the full 90 days…took the initial pictures and everything. Even invested in a pull up bar. However, after about day 49 my enthusiasm waned and my shoulder was killing me. (I have a recurring injury that is seriously aggravated by such things as chin ups and any heavy shoulder lifting activities.)  So, I gave up and shelved the DVD set. On occasions I would pull it out, or the exercise sheets that you can print off, and set about getting my P90X groove on.

Today was one of those days.  It was a rainy, dreary day and the thought of being sopping wet while running just didn’t appeal to me.  So I took out my trusty workout videos to thumb through the selections and came upon my P90X.  I wasn’t up for a round of weights so the Kenpo, Plyometrics, and Cardio X were my options.  The last time I did the Cardio X I remember thinking it was a little light.  The thought of throwing punches and kicks didn’t appeal either so Plyometrics was left.

I’m not sure what I was thinking…outside of the Yoga that Tony Horton does this is the hardest workout in the bunch.  After about 15 minutes of jumping, squatting, and hopping my thighs were burning, I was getting out of breath, and sweat was rivering down my brow.  One of the things I love about these workouts is the time countdown.  Until today.  Staring at that clock slowly ticking down was torture on top of what I was already putting myself through.

After the DVD was complete I guzzled some water and walked the living room huffing and puffing until I didn’t feel like I might pass out.  Here’s the thing…after becoming a hot sweaty mess I felt GOOD!  I was ready to face the rest of the day.  Get some chores done, clean the house, and run some errands.  I felt reinvigorated.  Don’t get me wrong, my legs are sore and feel like jelly when I walk up the stairs.  BUT I feel good.  I know that soreness will go away but the benefits of that hour becoming a hot sweaty mess will last through the day and many others.

Exercise is good…even when it doesn’t feel like it.

IMG_0740

**I am not a doctor.  My recommendations are just that, recommendations.  As with any exercise or diet changes, please consult a physician before beginning.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Blog Challenge Day 4:

Day 4: List 5 things you would tell your 16 year-old self if you could.

1.  Get involved more…go to the dance, join a sport, get out of the house and do things!  You’ll get to earn money and work the rest of your life.

2.  Boys are actually interested in you even if you don’t see it.  And if their not…who cares.  Their loss.

3.  Your parents know more than you think…one day you will actually be saying a lot of what they say.  And cringe when you realize it.

4.  Don’t be in a hurry to grow up.  Enjoy being a kid because once you are an adult, things change…big time.  Being an adult sucks a lot at times.

5.  Girls are mean, catty, and downright shallow at times.  Don’t worry about being part of the “in crowd” with those kinds of people.  It’s not worth your time, heartache, and hits to your self-esteem.  You’re better than that, better than them.

And one last thing, go to college!  Yeah, it’s 4 more years of school but it’ll be worth it.  Trust.  Just sayin’.

Mixer2

Don’t forget to Mix It Up with the MTMMixer!

One thought on “P90X= hot sweaty mess

  1. Pingback: Rainy Day Fun (island life) | BreNaturally

Leave a Reply

