Food / Running / Shoes

Dare You to Move + my fave running gear

I can’t tell you how many times I have gotten my clothes on, shoes laced up, and then sat down on the couch dreading my run.  Why?  Honestly, I don’t know.  If I were to think of all of my runs only a few have been terrible.  Some have been painful.  Mostly my runs leave me feeling better, gives me more energy, and clears my head.

So on those days when I just can’t seem to get up and go I dare myself to move…to just get out the door and start a run.  If after a few minutes I am not feeling it then I will allow myself to walk.  99% of the time I keep running.  It’s all about just starting, even when you don’t feel like it.  Our heads get in the way of what our bodies crave and need.

When you have a hard time getting up to exercise, dare yourself to move.  If for just 5 minutes…see where it leads.  I bet you it will feel good and go even longer/further.

Here’s some motivation:

IMG_0714 IMG_0792 r1 Running-Motivation

Running in the right clothes is always helpful…especially if you go for more than a few miles.  The most important: Shoes!  Be sure they are quality and not your everyday pair.  Even better, get fitted by a running store.  Outside of that it is all a matter of comfort.  I find flat seams in clothes and compression are wonderful for keeping the rub away.

Here’s a few items that I love to wear when running:

Asics sleeves -these babies keep my arms warm during a cool day or work as a great extra layer.  I also have some Asics shoes that I grew to love…then they discontinued the line.  Boo.

Headsweats -love this hat!  A built in sweatband and light airy cover.  It has a black under bill to help with the sun and wears well.

Saucony jacket -after much research and trying on different jackets, I found the Saucony jacket to be the best fit.  It was pricey but worth it for me during those long runs on a cold day.

UA – Under Armour Rocks!  Yes, it is expensive but well worth the price.  You definitely get what you pay for with this brand.  Their compression gear is my favorite and got me through many a long run.

Moving Comfort  -for the ladies’ girls.  This company has the bra for you!  Pricey but they do the job and do it right!

Kohls and Old Navy (slightly less expensive) -I have found some great pieces at these stores for slightly less and they have seen me through not only runs but various cross training.  When you catch them on sale it’s even better!  The Tek Gear shape wear from Kohls…it works.

Nike -sunglasses and shoes are the items I use most from them.  Nike+…need I say more.

Tifosi -sunglasses, fairly inexpensive but they wear as well as my Nike’s.

 

Get up and go…I dare you!  You can do it.

One thought on “Dare You to Move + my fave running gear

Leave a Reply

