Blog Hop / Food / Recipe

Sweet Roasted Kabocha

Soooo…I had a post all written out but I wasn’t totally positive about posting it.  After some discussion it was decided not to post it.  It’s a topic that has been on my mind for a bit however the possible ripple may effect those around me in a negative way so I am keeping it to myself.

Why do I tell you this?  Because now I don’t have a post for today.  🙂   So I’m gonna wing it.

“Don’t be a cloud on a sunny day!”  –that VW commercial is too funny and makes me smile, mahn!  “Respect the bossmahn.”

I believe I will tease you with some food pictures.

My newly tested Sweet Roasted Kabocha (recipe below).  I loved it, HB wasn’t impressed, and the pic below was E’s thought on it.

IMG_1224

Yep, not his favorite.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1226

This apple tea surprised me…lightly sweet with a touch of an apple taste.

IMG_1225

A local cucumber.  Small but packs a crunch.

IMG_1229

Our dinner tonight…Pizgetti Bake, green beans, salad, and some garlic toast rounds.

IMG_1232

My newest creation…Pizgetti Bake!  Recipe tomorrow!  HB tested and kid approved!

IMG_1233

 

Sweet Roasted Kabocha:

1 kabocha squash
2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
2 tsp cinnamon
1 dash nutmeg
1 dash ginger
2 tbsp Truvia, baking blend**

Heat oven to 425.  Line large baking sheet with aluminum foil.

Slice off top and bottom of kabocha and split in half.  Scoop out insides (like a pumpkin) and then thinly slice.  (Kabocha can be peeled but I like the taste of the crispy skin.)

Put sliced kabocha into medium sized bowl and top with other ingredients.  Toss to coat.

Place onto baking sheet and spread into single layer.  Bake for 25-35 minutes, turning about halfway through, until golden brown.

**Truvia can be replaced with 2 tbsp regular sugar or even left out completely.

Do you like kabocha?

What’s your favorite way to prepare it?

 

Don’t forget to check out the Almost Friday Thursday Blog Hop!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sweet Roasted Kabocha

    • Thanks! It tasted pretty darned good too. 🙂 I almost ate it all myself yesterday but didn’t quite make it. So I’ll be having some later today. Yum! Hope you try it out and let me know what you think.

  1. Pingback: February in Review | BreNaturally

Leave a Reply

