Blog Hop / Fitness / Food / Recipe / Running

A Run, A Hop, and A Recipe (Pizghetti Bake)

Gray, drizzly, and slightly cold…great time for a run!  That’s how I started off my morning.  A 3 mile loop to clear my head and get my body energized!  The light wind and slight drizzle kept me cool and wishing I had a bit more time to keep going.  Alas, it was a full day so I had to head home.  This was awaiting me.  How beautiful is that?

IMG_1242

After an appointment I headed to watch E in his first ever drill competition for AFJROTC.  So proud of my boy!  His flight looked like they were on it and I think they should win!  What?  I’m not biased…too much.

IMG_1246 IMG_1247

Now, onto the recipe I promised yesterday.

Who doesn’t like Italian?  Especially pizza and spaghetti?  How about combining them both into one delicious pan of goodness!  That’s what I did with this dish…my Pizghetti Bake!  It’s saucy, noodley, cheesy, and has tons of flavor.  It can also be made gluten free!

IMG_1233

Pizghetti Bake:

1 pkg Quinoa Spaghetti (or regular)
1 jar spaghetti sauce
1 pkg shredded cheese
2 tbsp garlic, chopped
2 tbsp dried onion (or 1/4 chopped fresh onion)
1 tsp basil
salt, to taste
pepper, to taste
cayenne pepper, to taste 
1 tbsp olive oil
2 cups red wine 
pizza toppings of choice: pepperoni’s, black olives, ham, etc…
 
Heat oven to 450.  Have a 13×9 pan ready.
 
Cook spaghetti according to directions, al dente, in large pot.  (You don’t want the noodles completely cooked through.)  After draining pasta, heat olive oil in same pot and add the garlic, onion, and basil.  Cook until fragrant, 1-2 minutes.  Add the remaining spices and wine.  Let boil to reduce for 2-3 minutes.  Wine should darken slightly.  Pour in pasta sauce and heat to lightly bubbling.  Add spaghetti to pot and toss to coat.  If desired, add 1/2 of your toppings to the pasta/sauce mix and toss to combine.  (I put in some pepperoni’s)  Pour into baking dish.  Place 1/2 of your remaining pizza toppings evenly over pasta.  Top with 3/4 cheese.  Sprinkle with remaining toppings and cheese.
 
Bake, uncovered, 20-25 minutes or until bubbling slightly.   Place under broiler for 3-5 minutes to brown.  Remove from oven and let sit for 5 minutes before serving.  
 
Perfect with some garlic toast, green beans, and a salad.    IMG_1232
 

So now it’s time to hop…The Pink Momma (a fellow pink lady after my own heart) is hosting!  Check it out.

Btw, it’s Friday…do a little happy dance!

What’s your favorite Italian dish?

Did you get in some movement today?

One thought on “A Run, A Hop, and A Recipe (Pizghetti Bake)

  1. Pingback: February in Review | BreNaturally

Leave a Reply

