Blog Hop / Food / Recipe / Running / SweatPink / WIAW

WIAW-Carrot Cake Balls

Normally WIAW is a post about the things we have eaten throughout a day. Today I am shaking it up and posting one thing I have been eating throughout this week. Carrot Cake Balls. (Can be vegan and Paleo!)

I found this recipe and I just had to try it out! I was hoping for a decent snack item. While I admit I didn’t follow the recipe to the letter (ok, I really didn’t measure much and used almond flour) it still came out well. I had to add a smidge more coconut to get the consistency I wanted. I also used my food processor to blend most of the ingredients together.

Here’s what I did:

8-10 pitted dates

1/2 c shredded coconut (I only had the sweetened kind but the original calls for unsweet)

2 large carrots, peeled

1/2 tbsp cinnamon

pinch cloves (more or less to taste_

2-4 tbsp coconut milk

1/2 c – 3/4 c almond flour

In food processor with shredding attachment, shred carrots. Remove and place in another bowl. Replace shredding blade with the mix/chop blade and add the dates. Process until smooth (1-2 minutes, scraping down if needed) Add half the coconut, half the shredded carrots, spices, and the almond flour. Pulse a few times. Drizzle in the coconut milk and pulse again until a ball forms. (You can add more or less of the milk or almond flour to get the desired constancy.) I added the remaining carrots and coconut on the last 1-2 pulses to break it down just a smidge and blend it together. You could do this by hand if you want larger pieces of it in the balls. Form into balls and eat up (or roll in some extra coconut if you wanna be fancy schmancy.)
20130417-210920.jpg

Now, here’s the big catch. While I thought the balls weren’t bad raw/cold, it just wasn’t quite the same as eating a piece of carrot cake. So, I heated them up in the microwave for a few seconds (30-45 seconds) and they did this amazingly delicious thing…cracked and dried out just a wee bit so that when I ate them it was like a little mini carrot cake out of the oven. Yummily-delicious! The only thing missing was the cream cheese frosting.

20130417-211022.jpg

But wait! 3 tbsp of cream cheese heated for a few seconds and then blended with a tbsp of powdered sugar and I was in carrot cake heaven! (Yes it was not really vegan or paleo at this point but super tasty!)

*Note: I did test these out by baking them for 20 minutes in the oven but they were too dry and didn’t have quite the same texture as the microwave version. Plus, I can just heat as many as I want and eat…warm and gooey in less than a minute.

Btw, I have been doing better so far this week with my exercise. I managed to get up early, o’dark thirty, and get in a good ole sweat{pink} weight session yesterday and then a nice run using my Vibrams this evening. (I know I will be feeling that tomorrow.) I plan to wake up early again Thursday for another round of weights. I gotta get my guns and six-pack abs for the upcoming beach season. HaHa…ok, I just want things to not flap in the wind. 😉

On a more somber note, I refrained from posting anything in the last few days regarding the tragedy in Boston. All I really can say is that my heart goes out to all the participants, spectators, visitors, and people there. Thoughts and prayers to them all but especially to the injured and families who lost a loved one.

9 thoughts on “WIAW-Carrot Cake Balls

Leave a Reply

